Hood River County

Sheriff's Office

Concealed Handgun License

Hood River County residents interested in applying for a Concealed Handgun License must first take a gun safety class or show proof of recent completion of a gun safety class which includes a component on handgun safety.  Enrollment in gun safety classes is available through local area gun shops, qualified NRA instructors, and online (including here).

The Concealed Handgun Unit administers and manages all aspects of applying for and the issuance of concealed carry licenses. The Unit is responsible for investigating applicants and issuing concealed handgun licenses to those who meet the legal standards set by the ORS. The Unit monitors existing licenses and, when necessary, revokes licenses for reasons consistent with the law. Our Concealed Handgun Unit is located at the Hood River County Sheriff’s Business Office. The Business Office is located at 309 State Street, Hood River, OR 97031, on the second floor of the Hood River County Courthouse.

The Concealed Handgun Unit processes renewal notifications on a monthly basis and responds to questions from the public regarding the application process and other concealed carry related issues.

Oregon State Sheriff’s Association offers a free course to anyone wishing to learn about the Oregon Concealed Handgun Law. If you would like a certificate for proof of handgun training to obtain your Concealed Handgun License, the certificate may be purchased after successful completion of the course for $55. Completion of this training satisfies the Oregon educational requirement for handgun safety training in order to obtain your concealed handgun license.

TAKE THE COURSE

Requirements for Obtaining a Concealed Handgun License in Hood River County

You must apply for a Concealed Handgun License within the county in which you reside.

  1. You must be a U.S. Citizen, or a legal alien who can document continuous residency in the United States for at least six months and have declared, in writing, to the INS your intent to acquire citizenship (e.g. Form N300).
  2. You must be 21 years of age.
  3. You must be a resident of Hood River County.
  4. Have no legal condition that would prohibit you from possessing a firearm under either Oregon or Federal law.
  5. Have no outstanding warrant(s) for your arrest.
  6. If you served in the Armed Forces and were not dishonorably discharged.
  7. Not be an unlawful user of, or addicted to, a controlled substance.
  8. Not be on any form of pre-trial release.
  9. Not be required to register as a sex offender in any state.
  10. No convictions of a misdemeanor or found guilty of a misdemeanor within four years prior to application, except under ORS 161.295.
  11. Never been convicted of a felony or found guilty, except for insanity under ORS 161.295, of a felony.
  12. Not be subject to a citation issued under ORS 163.735 or an order issued under ORS 30.866, 107.700 to 107.723, or 163.738 (e.g. Stalking or Restraining Order).
  13. Demonstrate competency with a handgun by any of the following:
    • Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the State Department of Fish and Wildlife or a similar agency of another state if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    • Completion of any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    • Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by law enforcement, community college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or a law enforcement agency if handgun safety was a component of the course.
    • Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered for security guards, investigators, reserve law enforcement officers or any other law enforcement officers if handgun safety was a component of the course;
    • Presents evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military service;
    • Is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state, unless the license has been revoked; or
    • Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a firearms instructor certified by a law enforcement agency or the National Rifle Association, if handgun safety was a component of the course.

(For complete details and other statutory conditions for issuance of a Concealed Handgun License, see ORS 166.291 Issuance of concealed handgun license; application; fees; liability)

How to obtain a Concealed Handgun License in Hood River County

Effective, July 5, 2022, applications for all Concealed Handgun Licenses will be submitted through a secure third-party software called Permit Director by Permitium. This means that you can fill out the application from your computer or smartphone 24 hours a day. Permit Director will add a small convenience fee in addition to the statutory fee for processing your application. If you need help with Permit Director, you may email help@permitium.com or call (855) 642-2453.

If you do not have access to a computer or internet, you may come into the Sheriff’s Office Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. to use our handheld tablet to submit your application.

Please be aware that, as part of the verification process and background checks required by law, all applicants will be photographed by the Sheriff’s Office. New applicants will also be fingerprinted.

New Concealed Handgun Applications

If you’ve never had a Concealed Handgun License in Oregon, you will need to select NEW Concealed Handgun License Application from the start page.

Your fingerprinting appointment is scheduled through the online application and your photograph will be taken at the time of your appointment. There will be no walk-ins permitted.

The non-refundable cost for a New Concealed Handgun License is $115.00. All major credit cards are accepted through the online Concealed Handgun License application program.

If you do not have the ability to complete the process electronically, you may schedule an appointment to visit our Business Office for assistance with your online application using our handheld tablet. Please call (541) 386-2098 to schedule.

Renewing Concealed Handgun License Applications

If you have a current Concealed Handgun License from Hood River County and you have had no changes (name and address are the exact same), even if your Concealed Handgun License is expired, and it is no more than thirty (30) days before your current Concealed Handgun License expires then you will need to select the RENEW Concealed Handgun License or TRANSFERRING from Another County and RENEWING from the start page.

The non-refundable cost for a Renewal of a Concealed Handgun License is $75.00. All major credit cards are accepted through the online Concealed Handgun application program.

Per ORS 166.295, an otherwise expired concealed handgun license continues to be valid for up to 45 days after the licensee applies for renewal if:

  • The licensee applies for renewal before the original license expires;
  • The licensee has proof of the application for renewal; and
  • The application for renewal has not been denied.

You will need to stop by the Sheriff’s Office during our consolidated business hours (Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.) for an updated photograph.

If you do not have the ability to complete the process electronically, you may schedule an appointment to visit our Business Office for assistance with your online application using our handheld tablet. Please call (541) 386-2098 to schedule.

Transfer Concealed Handgun Applications

If you have been issued a Concealed Handgun License in Oregon in a county other than Hood River County and it is due for a renewal, even if it is expired, then you will need to select the RENEW Concealed Handgun License or TRASFERRING from Another County and RENEWING LINK from the start page.

OR

If you have a current unexpired Concealed Handgun License issued in an Oregon county other than Hood River County, then you will need to select the REQUEST A REPLACEMENT, CHANGE OF NAME, CHANGE OF ADDRESS within Hood River County on an existing Concealed Handgun License or TRANSFERRING from another county from the start page.

Your fingerprinting appointment is scheduled through the online application and your photograph will be taken at the time of your appointment. There will be no walk-ins permitted.

The non-refundable cost for a Transfer (Renewal) Concealed Handgun License is $90.00. The non-refundable cost for a Transfer (current/valid) Concealed Handgun License is $30.00. All major credit cards are accepted through the online Concealed Handgun License application program.

If you do not have the ability to complete the process electronically, you may schedule an appointment to visit our Business Office for assistance with your online application using our handheld tablet. Please call (541) 386-2098 to schedule.

Duplicate/Change of Name/Change of Address Concealed Handgun Applications

If you have a current Concealed Carry License from Hood River County, but you have either mislaid your Concealed Handgun License card, have legally changed your name, or have moved but are still within Hood River County, then you will need to select the REQUEST A REPLACEMENT, CHANGE OF NAME, CHANGE OF ADDRESS LINK within Hood River County on an existing Concealed Handgun License or TRANSFERRING from another County from the start page.

The non-refundable cost for replacement or change of name/address for a Concealed Carry License is $15.00. All major credit cards are accepted through the online Concealed Handgun License application program.

If you do not have the ability to complete the process electronically, you may schedule an appointment to visit our Business Office for assistance with your online application using our handheld tablet. Please call (541) 386-2098 to schedule.

faqs
I have a permit in another Oregon county and I just moved here. What do I need to do?
When can I come in and apply?
What do I need to bring with me when I apply?